Magma Poetry Competition

The Magma Poetry Competition 2014/15 is now CLOSED for entries

Why not join us for a celebratory evening with Magma Competition judge and special guest Jo Shapcott at Keats House on Friday March 27th, 7-8.30pm, when the winners of the 2014/15 Magma Competition will read their prizewinning poems.

£1000 each go to our first prize winners Pam Thompson, Judges Prize and Geraldine Clarkson, Editors Prize

In the Judge’s Prize category second place is Pat Winslow and third is Simon Kew.

In the Editors’ Prize category second Place is Lois Williams and ten poets receive special commendations, Louise ValeLaura Jan ShoreAnthony WattsRyan WhatleyLinda Black, Pamela EdwardesFokkina McDonnellJohn D KellySeni Seneviratne and Hilary Elfick.

If you are not among them don’t despair, we had very strong fields for both the Judge’s Prize, chosen by Jo Shapcott and the Editors’ Prize, which this year was judged by Laurie SmithRoberta JamesJacqueline SaphraRob McKenzie and Ian McEwen.

Venue: Nightingale Room, 10 Keats Grove, Hampstead, London NW3 2RR (nearest station: Hampstead Heath Overground / ten minutes walk from Hampstead tube station)

Doors open 6.30 pm. FREE admission includes a glass of wine, but donations welcome. *MUST RSVP* via Eventbrite to reserve and confirm a place prior to event, as seats are limited and to be allocated on a first-come, first-served basis. Please direct any queries to




  • Receive the Magma Blog for FREE

    All the latest news, features and comment from Magma Poetry delivered to you for free.

    You can receive the blog via either e-mail or RSS.

    For more details, see the Free Updates page.

  • Receive the Magma Newsletter for FREE

    * indicates required
  • Friends of Magma Facebook Group

    Facebook logo

  • Follow Magma on Twitter