skip to Main Content

Announcing the £2,500 Sixth Annual Troubadour International Poetry Prize

Magma’s launch readings have been hosted by Coffee-House Poetry at the Troubadour for many years.

Knowing many Magma readers are also Coffee-House regulars, we would like to bring to your attention the Sixth Annual Troubadour International Poetry Prize.

Here are the judges and prizes – to enter the competition (and for the rules of entry) visit this page of the Coffee-House Poetry website.

Judged by Jane Draycott and Bernard O’Donoghue (with both judges reading all poems).

Sponsored by Cegin Productions.


1st £2,500, 2nd £500, 3rd £250 & 20 prizes of £20 each

Plus a Spring 2013 Coffee-House-Poetry season-ticket

Prizewinners’ Coffee-House Poetry reading with Jane Draycott and Bernard O’Donoghue on 26th Nov 2012 for all prize-winning poets

Submissions: by Monday 15th October 2012


Bernard O’Donoghue (b. Cullen, County Cork) is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature; a former Reader at Magdalen College and Fellow and tutor at Wadham College, Oxford, he co-edits the Oxford Poets (Carcanet) series with David Constantine. Farmers Cross (Faber, 2011) was shortlisted for the 2011 T S Eliot Prize following poetry collections which include Poaching Rights (1987), The Absent Signifier (1990), The Weakness (1991), Gunpowder (1995, which won the Whitbread Poetry Prize), Here Nor There (1999), Outliving (2003) and a Selected Poems (Faber 2008). He has written on the poetry of Seamus Heaney and translated Czech poet, Zbyněk Hejda.

Jane Draycott (b. London) teaches on postgraduate writing courses at Oxford and Lancaster Universities, and is currently Royal Literary Fund Fellow at Aston University: a PBS 2004 Next Generation poet, she won the 2002 Keats Shelley Poetry Prize, was shortlisted for the 2009 T S Eliot Prize and has won several awards for her audio work with Elizabeth James. Her latest work, a translation of 14th century Pearl (Carcanet, 2011) was a 2008 Stephen Spender Prize-winner. Her earlier publications include (with Two Rivers Press) Tideway (2002) with Peter Hay, and Christina the Astonishing (1998) with Lesley Saunders & Peter Hay, and three full collections, Prince Rupert’s Drop (1999), The Night Tree (2004), and Over (2009), all with Carcanet/Oxford Poets.

Click here to enter.

Back To Top