skip to Main Content

Magma Poetry Competition 2019/20 — Winners Announced

Magma Poetry is excited to announce the winners and commended poets for its 2019/20 Poetry Competition for both the Judge’s Prize and the Editors’ Prize.

Many thanks to everyone who entered our annual Competition. Our Judge Caroline Bird and Magma Editors’ have been busy reading thousands of entries and we have had some very tough choices to make, but we now have our list. Congratulations to all the winners and commendeds and huge thanks to everyone for your continuing support of Magma.


FIRST PRIZE: Mark Russell from Arrochar, Scotland with Hospitality

SECOND PRIZE: Victoria Richards from London with The mothers scream into the void

THIRD PRIZE: Rachael Matthews from New York with Ventriloquism

COMMENDED POEMS in no particular order:

Cameron Brady-Turner from Hemel Hempsted with Animal Crossing
Katie O’Pray from Bedford with Four Kisses
Nicola Daly from Chester with All I know About: J
Sally Baker from Mytholmroyd, W. Yorks with Fear of Arsenical Green
Liam Bates from Wednesbury, W. Midlands with The Protagonist


FIRST PRIZE: James Pollock from Madison, WI, USA with Goose Neck Lamp

SECOND PRIZE: Paul Nemser from Cambridge, MA, USA with Morning After

THIRD PRIZE: Lydia Harris from Orkney with Muldro

COMMENDED POEMS in no particular order:

Maria Isakova-Bennett from Liverpool with The Alt at Lunt Meadows
John Maguire from Northumberland with The artist responds to criticism
Ian Chamberlain from Teignmouth, Devon with Certificate PG
Dean Gessie from Ontario, Canada with Existential Deer
Kathy Pimlott from Covent Garden with After the Fall


The three winning poems in each competition will be published in Magma 77, Act Your Age, and the Commended poems on the Magma website when the issue launches.


The Prize Giving event will be held at the Poetry Café, 22 Betterton Street, London WC2H 9BX on 18th March 7.30-10pm. The event is free – look forward to seeing you there!


Back To Top